top of page
  • Katherine Alano

The Ritz's Lewis Jackson wins Young Pastry Chef award

Lewis Jackson from The Ritz was crowned the 2024 Young Pastry Chef of the Year in a competition held at the University of Birmingham on 18 June.

Jackson saw off competition from seven other finalists including Amy Philips, Cheshire College – South West; Claudiu Zlate- University College Birmingham; Erin Whipp – Leeds City College; Harshveer Singh Sehgal - Westminster College; Jack Eadie - Forth Valley College; Natasha Duff - Farnborough College and Olivia Ellam- Morston Hall.

Erin Whipp of Leeds City College was named runner up.

The competitors had to produce:

  • Four portions of a plated restaurant dessert

  • Produce all butter puff pastry

  • Moulded Praline/ Bon Bon

  • Create a dessert using poached fruit and Tilda Jasmin rice

The judges commented that the finalists all showed wonderful skills, and their use of texture, balance and flavour were incredible, and were impressed by their creative culinary journeys and the stories and history behind their dishes.

The judges included Claire Clark, Thomas Leatherbarrow, Matt Owens, Michelle Gilliot, Stuart McLeod, Barry Johnson and Daniel Ayton. The competiton chefs were judged by the following criteria: flavour 30%, presentation 25%, innovation 15%, hygiene 10%, working method 20% and a maximum of ten points for each will be deducted for wastage and timings.


Jackson wins a three-day culinary adventure with a one-on-one upskilling sessions with Pastry World Cup Champion Massimo Pica, as well as a Chefi knife rolls.

Judge Claire Clark, MBE, commented: “It’s a privilege to be asked to judge the prestigious 2024 Young Pastry Chef of the Year Award.  I feel honoured to be part of the incredible judging panel and this inspiring competition lead the by the legend Murray Chapman.  Eight finalists, craft skills galore and the relatively calm kitchen at UCB.   Only one winner but everyone has earned their place in the finals.  It’s so important to keep these competitions alive and the talent recognised “

Additional Great Prizes and winners

  • Best Restaurant Dessert: Harshveer Singh Sehgal of Westminster Kingsway College

  • Best use of Puff Pastry: Claudiu Zlate of Birmingham University College

  • Best Petit Fours Amedei: Amy Phillips of Cheshire College-South West

  • Best Use of Tilda Jasmine Rice: Natasha Duff of Farnborough College

The competition was sponsored and supported by Tilda Rice , Nowah, Kemplex, Chefii, Russums, Ponthier Puree, , Amedei Toscana, , The University College Birmingham,  The Craft Guild of Chefs, British Culinary Federation, Association of Pastry Chefs,  Disciples of Escoffier  A Passion to Inspire

20 views0 comments


bottom of page